Coaching

Ipswich Bicycle Club provides qualified or trainee British Cycling coaches at all its sessions.

The club has a continuing coaching education programme ensuring our coaches are able to develop and update their existing skills or qualifications.

All of our coaches:

  • are qualified to at least Level 2 of the British Cycling coaching programme
  • are qualified first aiders
  • have completed a Criminal Records Bureau Check

We are always on the lookout for coaching assistants, either parents or members.

Coaching Programmes for Young Riders

Coaching jpg

 

Ipswich Bicycle Club delivers a wide range of coaching from basic and intermediate cycling techniques, through to preparing riders for competitive cycling in cyclo cross or road racing. Each coach is qualified to deliver British Cyclings programmes, where riders can progress into competition. Ipswich Bicycle Club is a Go-Ride accredited club, and is able to deliver this programme regularly at club sessions and also externally to schools.

We are collecting Sainsbury’s Active Kids vouchers to help support our coaching kit. Please pass any vouchers to one of the committee or coaching team.

Interested?

If you are a young rider aged 7yrs+ and are interested in taking part in a coaching session, please see announcements below or contact one of the coaching team to find out the date and time of the next session.

What do you need

  • Bicycle, (always check whether an off-road, or road bicycle is needed)
  • Helmet
  • Water
  • Appropriate clothing for cycling in all weathers
  • Parental consent form completed at your first session
  • £3.00 per rider

Venues

Ipswich Bicycle Club operates mainly from Foxhall heath/Stadium.

Foxhall Stadium and surrounding woodland offers a safe off road environment for road/track techniques inside the stadium, and cyclo cross skills and techniques on the heath. Foxhall is also used by the club for regional and national rounds of Cyclo Cross racing. Map

Next Sessions

All sessions 10am-12noon (arrive 9.40am) adults welcome too.
Autumn/Winter sessions will all be offroad where a Mountain or Cyclo Cross bike will be required. Sessions will look at core bike handling skills and combine mini race scenarios giving a good workout. Sessions work around and support entries to the Eastern Cyclo Cross League, the calendar below include league dates.

Date Event
   
Sun 14 Sep 2014 Amis Velo Hillyfields Supacross
   
Sat 20 Sep 2014 Hoggenberg Cross
Sun 21 Sep 2014 Springfield Cross
   
Sat 27 Sep 2014 Training at Foxhall
   
Sat 4 Oct 2014 CC Ashwell Cross
   
Sat 11 Oct 2014 Welwyn Cross
   
Sat 18 Oct 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 19 Oct 2014 Davy Down Cross
   
Sat 25 Oct 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 26 Oct 2014 Mistley Cross
   
Sat 1 Nov 2014 Training VENUE TBC
Sun 2 Nov 2014 Grafham Water Cross
   
Sat 8 Nov 2014 West Suffolk Cross
Sun 9 Nov 2014 Round 10 (details TBC)
   
Sat 15 Nov 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 16 Nov 2014 Hempton Cross
   
Sat 22 Nov 2014 Redgrave Cross
Sun 23 Nov 2014 Ipswich Cross
   
Sat 29 Nov 2014 Training VENUE TBC
Sun 30 Nov 2014 Norwich ABC Cross
   
Sat 6 Dec 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 7 Dec 2014 Regional Championships
   
Sat 13 Dec 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 14 Dec 2014 Broome Heath Scramble
   
Sat 20 Dec 2014 Training at Foxhall
   
Sat 27 Dec 2014 Training at Foxhall
Sun 28 Dec 2014 Iceni Velo Duff Morgan Chris Cross
   
Sat 3 Jan 2015 Training at Foxhall
   
Sat 10 Jan 2015 Training at Foxhall
   
Sat 17 Jan 2015 Training at Foxhall
Sun 18 Jan 2015 Trinity Park Cross 1 (TBC)
   
Sat 24 Jan 2015 Training at Foxhall
Sun 25 Jan 2015 Trinity Park Cross 2 (TBC)
   
Sat 31 Jan 2015 Training at Foxhall
Sun 1 Feb 2015 End of Season Team Championships
 

Email below if you wish to receive updates on our sessions.

Contact Us

Ipswich Bicycle Clubs coaching team is managed by a coaching committee that meets regularly throughout the year.

Coaching Secretary Adam Keer 07880 601396
coachedtraining@ipswichbicycleclub.co.uk

Other Local Youth Coaching

Youth Road coaching is also offered locally by Marshall Crowe, a Level 3 Coach form local club Plomesgate CC.

Sessions are for up to 20 riders. Mimimum age is 12yrs. No maximum.

If you wish to be included please email or call Marshall. 07860 689125 marshall.h.crowe@btinternet.com

Please remember to bring a helmet, suitable clothing, £3 and, if it is your first session, a signed parental consent form.